Support Us

WQXR Presents the 2014 Gilmore Artist

Wednesday, January 8, 2014

5:30 PM

Every four years, one extraordinary pianist receives the Gilmore Artist Award, the MacArthur “genius” grant of the music world. The lucky recipient receives $300,000 and a spotlight that can be career transforming.

This year's recipient is the Polish pianist Rafał Blechacz. The 28-year-old is the seventh recipient of the Gilmore prize, whose past artists include Leif Ove Andsnes (1998), Piotr Anderszewski (2002), Ingrid Fliter (2006) and Kirill Gerstein (2010).

Tonight, watch a live video webcast of Blechacz's performance in an exclusive, sold-out event presented by WQXR in The Greene Space. Don’t miss your chance to hear him in his first New York appearance as the next Gilmore Artist! Hosted by WQXR’s Jeff Spurgeon and APM’s Fred Child

Watch Live! A video webcast will stream below at 5:30pm ET: 

Limited complimentary tickets to this event are provided through the generous support of The Gilmore International Keyboard Festival.